Deshaun Watson, Clemson University

Congratulations to Clemson University quarterback Deshaun Watson, the winner of the 2016 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

He was named the Most Valuable Player of the ACC Championship game for the second consecutive year. For the season, Watson has completed 329 of 487 passes for 3914 yards and 37 touchdowns. He ranks fourth in the nation in completions, fifth in touchdown passes and eighth in completion percentage and eighth in total offense.  His 37 touchdown passes are a Clemson season record.

The native of Gainesville, Georgia who is a junior in eligibility, will receive his undergraduate degree on December 15, led Clemson to the ACC Championship last Saturday in a 42-35 victory over Virginia Tech. It was the second consecutive year Clemson has won the ACC title, the first time the program has done that in 28 years. He is the first Clemson quarterback to lead the Tigers to back-to-back conference crowns since Rodney Williams led Clemson to three straight league crowns from 1986-88.

Watson was 23-34 for 288 yards and three touchdowns passing and added a team best 85 yards rushing on 17 carries and scored twice against Virginia Tech. Watson has finished strong, connecting on 138 of 186 passes for 1586 yards and 15 touchdowns over the last five games.  That is a 74 percent completion percentage.  He has had 20 touchdowns rushing and passing over the five games and averaged 356.8 total offense yards per game.

View Full Announcement View Event Photos

Past Winners

2015 Golden Arm Award
Connor Cook
Michigan State
2014 Golden Arm Award
Marcus Mariota
2013 Golden Arm Award
AJ McCarron
2012 Golden Arm Award
Collin Klein
Kansas State
2011 Golden Arm Award
Andrew Luck
2010 Golden Arm Award
Scott Tolzien
2009 Golden Arm Award
Colt McCoy
2008 Golden Arm Award
Graham Harrell
Texas Tech
2007 Golden Arm Award
Matt Ryan
Boston College
2006 Golden Arm Award
Brady Quinn
Notre Dame

Archived Winners

2005 Golden Arm Award
Matt Leinart
2004 Golden Arm Award
Jason White
2003 Golden Arm Award
Eli Manning
Ole Miss
2002 Golden Arm Award
Carson Palmer
2001 Golden Arm Award
David Carr
Fresno State
2000 Golden Arm Award
Chris Weinke
Florida State
1999 Golden Arm Award
Chris Redman
1998 Golden Arm Award
Cade McNown
1997 Golden Arm Award
Peyton Manning
1996 Golden Arm Award
Danny Wuerffel
1995 Golden Arm Award
Tommie Frazier
1994 Golden Arm Award
Jay Barker
1993 Golden Arm Award
Charlie Ward
Florida State
1992 Golden Arm Award
Gino Torretta
1991 Golden Arm Award
Casey Weldon
Florida State
1990 Golden Arm Award
Craig Erickson
1989 Golden Arm Award
Tony Rice
Notre Dame
1988 Golden Arm Award
Rodney Peete
1987 Golden Arm Award
Don McPherson